Canvassing in Corby

I’ve just spent several very interesting hours canvassing in Corby — or strictly speaking, in Thrapston.

Several interesting insights emerged.  First, our Campaign Director, a veteran of several by-election campaigns, has rarely seen such a positive response.  Our very smart Campaign Office in a shop unit in Corby Town Centre has seen an exceptional level of interest already — although the by-election has not yet been formally called.  There has been a lot of comment about the unwillingness of the Labour campaign team to address the issues worrying voters — like immigration, for example.  And a number of voters have come straight across from Labour’s Office, a hundred yards away, to say they’ll be voting UKIP.

The second story concerns a startling Labour faux pas.  Apparently the Labour team had a batch of envelopes intended for hand delivery — but by accident they put them in the post.  Unstamped.  We don’t know how many, but a number of voters were very angry when they were invited by the Post Office to pay £3 for unstamped mail, only to find an electoral letter from the Labour Party.  How to lose friends and infuriate people.

I was also struck by one particular voter who was happy to chat, but insisted that he was a Labour voter, he’d always voted Labour, he always would vote Labour.  He agreed he was unhappy with the track record of all the old parties, but nothing would shake him from his historic tribal loyalty.  I was about to retire hurt when I thought of one last try.

“Well”, said I, “I respect your position on local and general elections, but could I just ask you to think about UKIP for the euro-elections in 2014?  “Ha ha”, he said, holding up his index finger towards his nose in a conspiratorial fashion, “Now that’s a different issue entirely”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Canvassing in Corby

  1. mikestallard says:

    Roger – a personal comment, I am afraid. I used to be an Anglican, but changed over and am now a very contented and satisfied Catholic. It actually cost me my job and ten years on the dole. But it was well worth it! I say that to show that I do identify with your position in politics!
    In politics, I have always been a floating voter. Now I am certainly moving very fast towards UKIP. Nigel Farrage is making some really good points. So are you.

    • rfhmep says:

      Thanks for that insight, Mike. I’m concerned that in the UK it’s politically correct to show respect for all faiths — except, apparently, Christianity.

  2. Phil J says:

    Roger I know exactly where you are coming from with your staunch Labour voter. When Nigel and the team came here to do some canvassing I was absolutely appalled at the abject stupidity of people moaning their socks off about the Blair years and what it cost them (personally) & country, yet they still swear allegiance to Labour at an election! Had I been able to speak to them I’m sure they would have thought differently when I told them “There’s a post over there, go tie yourself to it and the Labour firing squad will be along in a minute to thank you…..7.62mm style!” I honestly think some of them would have gone and stood at that post.
    I am truly wondering now just who is pulling CamerCleggs strings and which shooting post they have been allotted if they disobey?

  3. Hi Roger, I have to say I did find your engagement with the Labour supporter amusing and even more amusing was your last paragraph as yet again you detail that all UKIP is interested in is gaining more MEP’s for Brussels even though you guys advocate you dont want to be there??, Cold harsh reality is UKIP are a one trick pony which very few in Corby will buy into regardless of the money you throw into the election and ref your comment on religion, Come on Roger, you’ve been around the block long enough to know better, there is nothing wrong with the various religions of the world and as with all things then it is the extremists that create the problems in all faiths, dont judge everyone by the actions of the few.

  4. matthu says:

    Roger – I would be interested to hear how you reconcile margot Parker’s view below (as reported in The Guardian) with your own? She has reportedly been shown as advocating the following:
    Government should tackle climate change aggressively even if it means energy bills go up.

    My own view is that it is increasingly evident that higher government spend on tackling climate change won’t make a blind bit of difference to the climate we can expect in the future but has every prospect of blighting future economic prosperity.

Leave a Reply

