An Open letter to Hans-Gert Poettering MEP

Dear Hans-Gert,

Let me congratulate you on your initiative regarding the EU Museum of History.  Certainly in my country, the UK, news of it has served to increase the anger of the general public at the conceit, the self-regard and the sheer thoughtless profligacy of the EU élites in these times of financial hardship for ordinary families.

I thought I would share with you a Tweet which I issued yesterday, based on a remark by one of my ECR colleagues:

“We don’t need an EU Museum of History (for £90m!). The way it’s going, with debt & regulation, the EU itself will soon be history.”

Best regards.

ROGER HELMER MEP

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to An Open letter to Hans-Gert Poettering MEP

  1. Sue says:

    That’s what I keep telling myself. Give them enough rope and they’ll hang themselves with it (pretty much like the Tories are doing at the moment, especially with the Pakistan fiasco). Is he mental giving them weapons? He needn’t apologise on my account for the sins of my ancestors. Pakistan’s record on human rights is absolutely nothing to be proud of and that’s not in the past!

    Anyhow, back to the subject in hand. A museum of history with a marble statue of Caligula Van Rompuy in the foyer.

    Herman Caligula Caesar Van Rompuy’s first victory display case will be of how the EU saved thousands of lives in Libya with their quick action 🙂

    I used to get angry about the EU and now I just laugh, they’re a joke. The whole thing is a farce which is about to fall on it’s ar*e and about time too.

  2. steve says:

    If such a thing must be built, let it be by public subscription. Perhaps Messrs Poeterring, Rumpuoy, Barroso, Clegg, Duff, Buzek, my Lords Mandelson and Kinnock, Baroness Ashton and the rest could set the ball rolling by digging deep into their own pockets (not ours, for once) to fund such a ‘noble’ endeavour.

  3. Those who support expensive projects such as this, will probably try to suggest that opponents tend to lack an interest in culture or our shared history. But clearly, many British citizens (including myself) would like to see our money put to better use. And of course, we already have plenty of alternative sources from which to learn about european history.

  4. And probably less biased sources! This project will be less about history, more about EU propaganda.

  5. Pingback: European Union: Manipulating History with Tax Payer Dollars | European Union

Leave a comment